Skip To Main Content

Asbestos Notification

Notification Requirement

Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act


            In accordance with federal regulations, Challis Joint School District #181 has completed AHERA inspections and management plans for all school district buildings.  All ACBM are being regulated in accordance with federal and state laws.  Copies of the AHERA inspections report and management plan for the entire school district are available for public review at the administration office during regular business hours.  All questions regarding asbestos in the school district should be directed to the AHERA designated person:  Bob Williams, Maintenance Supervisor, 1000 E. Bluff Ave., Challis, Idaho, 83226, (208) 879-4231.


Challis Joints School District #181 is required by 40 CFR Part 763.84, the Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA) to:


  • “Ensure that workers and building occupants, organizations, or parent teacher organizations, are informed at least once each school year about inspections, response actions, and post response actions activities, including periodic re-inspections and surveillance activities that are planned or are in progress.”
  • “Ensure that short term workers (e.g. phone repair workers, utility repair workers, or exterminators) who may come in contact with asbestos in a school are provided information regarding the location of asbestos containing building material (ACBM) and suspected or assumed ACBM.”


The following District 181 buildings contain known or suspected asbestos containing materials:

  • Challis Elementary School
  • Stanley Elementary School


Each of the above named buildings has an Asbestos Management Plan that is available for review.  The Plan describes how asbestos containing building material is contained and maintained to ensure the environment in each building is kept safe.  Asbestos surveillances are performed every six months by a trained asbestos inspector.  The three year re-inspections are ongoing and up-to-date.  These inspections are conducted by accredited School District 181 personnel.